Society Centers and Representatives

Home/Posts/Local Groups/Society Centers and Representatives

The Threshold Society welcomes people interested in Sufism to our center in Louisville, Kentucky on certain Thursday evenings.

These gatherings begin promptly at 8:00 PM and run for about two hours and typically include silent meditation; sohbet, “spiritual conversation,” often on the subject of a monthly theme; music; and the form of chanting known as zhikr, “remembrance.”

THE THRESHOLD SOCIETY ALSO HAS BRANCHES IN OTHER LOCATIONS:

Khalifes:

These are people who have been recognized for their maturity, devotion, and creative contribution to the Society and the Mevlevi tradition. A Khalife has the full support of Shaikh Kabir and Camille, and has the right to initiate into the Mevlevi Order.

London: Mahmoud Mostafa hualone@gmail.com

Portland, Oregon: Khadim Chishti: khadim33@gmail.com

Study Groups:

These are groups of six or more people who meet regularly to follow a format of study suggested by Threshold. They gather under the direction of one or more people recognized by the Society. The contact emails are listed below.

Bay Area, California, USA Zakiuddin McNulty: SF.bay.area.threshold@gmail.com

Portland, Oregon, USA Khadim Chishti: khadim33@gmail.com

Washington, DC, USA Norma McOmber: n_mcomber@yahoo.com

West Park, NY, USA Mathew Wright: matthew.awakingheart@gmail.com

Mexico See Sufismomexico.org

Vancouver, Canada Yvonne Brine: ybrine@shaw.ca

Jakarta, Indonesia Ita Mucharam: ita7777@gmail.com

Islamabad, Pakistan Shazreh Hussain: shazrehbano@gmail.com

Istanbul, Turkey Aykut Akalin: thresholdturkey@gmail.com

The Netherlands Zeliha Akdan: zeliha.akdan@gmail.com

Johannesburg, S. Africa Husnayn Ebrahim: hasnayn@gmail.com

London, England Mahmoud Mostafa: thresholdsociety@yahoo.com

Manchester/Wilmslow, England Fatimah Ashrif: fatimahashrif@gmail.com

Kendal, England Saimma Dyer: saimma_j@yahoo.com

Oxford, England Sadat Malik: sadat.malik@me.com

See the UK page for more details

2019-06-30T11:41:10-04:00